Indonesia’s Jokowi Announces New Cabinet Members Incl. Rival Prabowo as Defense Min.

General, Home53 Views
banner 468x60

Durian. Indonesian President Joko Widodo who popular known as Jokowi has announced members of his new cabinet, including his former contender in the April 2019 presidential election Prabowo Subianto and inaugurated them on Oct. 23 in Jakarta.

Prabowo was appointed as defense minister. Total cabinet members and top officials that was announced by the president is 38.

banner 336x280

“In the short term and in the next five years [we] will be focus on human resources development, job creation, and empowerment of micro, small and medium enterprises” President Jokowi said when he introduced his ministers.

He named the cabinet as Indonesia’s Advance Cabinet which contains of

Moh. Mahfud Md., Coordinating Minister for Political, Legal and Security Affairs; Airlangga Hartarto, Coordinating Minister for Economic Affairs; Muhadjir Effendy, Coordinating Minister for Human Development and Culture; Luhut Binsar Panjaitan , Coordinating Minister for Maritime And Investment Affairs;  Prabowo Subianto, Defense Minister; Pratikno, State Secretary; Tito Karnavian, Home Affairs Minister; Retno Lestari Priansari Marsudi, Foreign Minister; Fachrul Razi, Religious Affairs Minister; Yasonna Hamonangan Laoly, Justice and Human Rights Minister; Sri Mulyani Indrawati, Finance Minister; Nadiem Anwar Makarim, Education and Cultural Minister who is the youngest minister and founder of ride-hailing app Gojek; Terawan Agus Putranto, Health Minister; Juliari Peter Batubara, Social Affairs Minister; Ida Fauziah, Labor Minister; Agus Gumiwang Kartasasmita, Industry Minister; Agus Suparmanto, Trade Minister; Arifin Tasrif, Energy and Mineral Resources Minister who is Indonesian Ambassador to Japan; Basuki Hadimuljono, Public Works and Housing Minister; Budi Karya Sumadi, Transportation Minister; Johnny Gerald Plate, Communication and Informatics Minister; Syahrul Yasin Limpo, Agriculture Minister; Siti Nurbaya Bakar, Environment and Forestry Minister; Eddy Prabowo, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries Minister; Abdul Halim Iskandar, Villages, Disadvantaged Regions and Transmigration Minister; Sofjan Djalil, Spatial and Land Reform Minister; Suharso Monoarfa, National Development Planning Minister; Tjahjo Kumolo, Civil Service Affairs and Bureaucratic Reform Minister; Erick Thohir,  State-Owned Enterprises Minister; Teten Masduki, Cooperatives and Small and Medium Enterprises Minister; Wishnutama Kusubandio, Tourism and Creative Economy Minister; I Gusti Ayu Bintang Darmavati, Women Empowerment and Child Protection Minister; Bambang Brodjonegoro, Research and Technology Minister; Zainuddin Amali, Youth Affairs and Sports Minister; Moeldoko, Chief of Presidential Staffs; Pramono Anung, Cabinet Secretary; Bahlil Lahadalia, Head of Investment Coordinating Board; and S.T. Burhanudin, Attorney General.

Total 18 of them are from political parties which five from the PDI-P, four from Golkar Party, three from NasDem, three from PKB, one from PPP and two from Gerindra. Gerindra is the only opposition that now joins the government coalition.

“First, do not commit corruption; create a system to avoid potential of corruption. Secondly, there is no ministerial vision and mission, only president and vice president’s. Thirdly, we must work fast, hard and productive, do not work monotony, real results, must be often checking problem in the fields and find its solutions. All of [ministers] must be serious when working. Be careful, any of you can be fired in the middle of the road,” Jokowi told his newly appointed ministers.

banner 336x280

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

1 comment