Indonesian President Installs New Ministers and Head Agencies Incl. Health Min.

banner 468x60

Durian. Indonesian President Joko Widodo sworn-in six ministers and two head of state agencies on Dec.23 after announcing cabinet reshuffle a day earlier.

Six new ministers are: Tri Risma Harini, mayor of Surabaya in East Java as social affairs minister. She replaces Juliari Batubara who is a suspect in a graft case related to social aids for people who are affected economically by covid-19 pandemic;

banner 336x280

Sandiaga Salahuddin Uno who was competed in 2019 presidential election as vice president candidate for Prabowo Subianto against President Widodo and Vice President Ma’ruf Amin, was appointed as tourism and creative economy minister. Uno is replacing Wishnutama;

Budi Gunadi Sadikin is replacing Terawan Agus Putranto as health ministry from his previous position as state-owned enterprises deputy minister;

Yaqut Cholil Qoumas, head of Anshor Youth Movement (GP Anshor), a youth-wing of Indonesian largest moderate Muslim organization Nahdlatul Ulama (NU), was assigned as religious affairs minister, replacing Fachrul Razi;

Sakti Wahyu Trenggono was appointed as marine affairs and fisheries minister for previous post as deputy defense minister. He is replacing Edhy Prabowo who was arrested by the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK) in relation with graft at lobster seeds export; and

Muhammad Lutfi was assigned as trade ministry, leaving his previous post as Indonesian Ambassador for the United States, and replacing Agus Suparmanto. It’s the second time for Lutfi becoming trade minister, previously was during the presidency of Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono.

President Widodo on Dec.23 also installed five new deputy ministers, they’re Muhammad Herindra for the Defense Ministry; Edward Omar Syarif Hiariej for the Justice and Human Rights Ministry; Dante Saksono Harbuwono for the Health Ministry; Harfiq Hasnul Qolbi for the Agriculture Ministry and Pahala Nugraha Mansyuri for the State-owned Enterprises Ministry.

Head of two state agencies were also sworn-in by the president on Dec.23 and they’re Insp. Gen. Petrus Reinhard Golose to lead the National Anti-Drugs Agency (BNN) and Hartono Prawiraatmadja for the Peatland and Mangrove Restoration Agency (BRGM).

banner 336x280